The Not So Perfect Ingredient

And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to His purpose. (Romans 8:28)

StockSnap_2EW0RA30JP

A few weekends ago I went on a much needed getaway with a few friends to the beach. One morning while just hanging out in the room getting ready for the day- one of my favorite topics came up: Chocolate Chip Cookies!

One of the young ladies who was with us loves to bake. So me being meI asked her if she knew how to make them. Being a true baker, she did, and she started telling me about a recent batch she made. Surprisingly, while baking, she added what she thought was the wrong ingredient, but it actually turned out to be one of the best she had cranked out in a while. She even got a request from the recipient for more later. I should’ve put my order in! 🙂

The moment she said it, I immediately thought about Romans 8:28:

 “And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good…”

Everything? Even the bad? Even the stuff that I didn’t think I needed?

That’s right my loves. Everything.

It’s amazing to me how God reminds us in the ordinary moments of our lives of His masterful plan. Of His sovereignty in all things. How nothing that happens in our lives will be wasted. Rather, He takes it all to create something good.

The promotion you were passed up for.
The health report you weren’t expecting.
The loss of a relationship you didn’t see coming.
Or even our own doings. Choices that we’ve made that we wish we didn’t.

He uses it all.

So think about it. Whatever “it” is may not have been the ingredient we were looking forbut perhaps it’s the very thing needed to perfect the recipe of God’s purpose for our lives- to be conformed in the image of the Son. (vs. 29)

As you reflect this week, remember that every detail of our lives is being placed in the ultimate Baker’s hand and I hope the final product turns out better than anything we ever imagined.

Until Next Time!
xoxo
Keisha

P.S. I don’t think I’ll ever look at a chocolate chip cookie the same again. 🙂

One thought on “The Not So Perfect Ingredient

Leave a Reply

